WiFi- Standards & Maximum Range of connectivity

WiFi Technology is WIRELESS FIDELITY and stands for all those technologies that fall under the specifications of IEEE 802.11 including 802.11a, 802.11b ,802.11g and 802.11n. The association of the term WiFi with various technologies is merely because of the promotions made by the Wi-Fi Alliance.

WiFi Standard -802.11
In 1997, the IEEE created the first WLAN standard. First Standard  802.11  supported maximum Speed Of 2Mbps.

WiFi Standard -802.11b
802.11b supports bandwidth up to 11 Mbps makes use of 2.4GHz unregulated radio signaling frequency .

WiFi Standard -802.11a
802.11a supports bandwidth up to 54 Mbps and signals in a regulated frequency spectrum around 5 GHz. This higher frequency compared to 802.11b shortens the range of 802.11a networks.

WiFi Standard -802.11g
802.11g attempts to combine the best of both 802.11a and 802.11b. 802.11g supports bandwidth up to 54 Mbps, and it uses the 2.4 Ghz frequency for greater range.

WiFi Standard -802.11n
It was designed to improve on 802.11g in the amount of bandwidth supported by utilizing multiple wireless signals and antennas . 802.11n connections offer data rate of  over 100Mbps.


Search This Blog